APC Extends Oyegun’s Tenure for One Year

The National Executive Committee of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has approved the extension of the tenure of the John Odigie Oyegun-led National Working Committee (NWC) and state executive committees for one year with effect from June this year.

Kogi State Governor Yahaya Bello broke the news to reporters yesterday after the  party’s National Executive Council (NEC) meeting in Abuja.

Bello said the decision was taken in line with Article 13 of the party, which allows the NEC to exercise the powers of the National Convention.

A source at the meeting said the decision was taken after a voice vote. He added that what was done is simply an expression of the intention to amend the party’s constitution.

Article 30 of the party’s constitution stipulates how such a decision can be established.

Bello said the tenure extension was taken owing to the need to avoid any confusion in the party’s operation ahead of the 2019 general elections and to give the Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu-led reconciliation committee time to carry out an effective job.

The meeting started when President Muhammadu Buhari arrived at the APC headquarters, accompanied by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo. It was attended by governors, members of the National Assembly, state APC chairmen and others.

Senate President Bukola Saraki and Speaker of the House of Representatives Yakubu Dogara as well as a few governors were absent.

With Bello were National Publicity Secretary Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi and the party’s chairmen in Plateau, Rivers, Anambra, Ondo and Nasarawa states.

The party was silent on the conduct of its national convention and the amendment to its constitution.

Bello said: “At the end of the National Executive Council meeting today, a major decision was taken in line with the constitution of our party. We are all aware that the tenure of the current NWC and the executive members of this party – both elected and appointed – comes to an end in June this year.

“Considering the time left for the party to conduct all the congresses and convention and considering that our leader, Senator Tinubu, has been charged with the responsibility of reconciling all aggrieved members of our party, we cannot afford to approach the general elections with more dispute and crises.

“So, relying on Article 13 of our constitution, which empowers the NEC to carry out the function of the convention, the NEC has decided to extend the tenure of the current NWC and other executive committees at various levels for another twelve months, starting from June 30th.

“Let me tell you that this will not stop the convention of the party. But to go into elective Congresses is what we are trying to avoid relying on the constitution of our party. As a matter of fact, Mr. President believes in ensuring that there are Congresses and convention across board.

“However, how would you manage the crisis that will arise thereabout? Let me give you instances, in Ekiti and Osun states, there state congresses were postponed similarly in 2014 ahead of the elections. Just two states to avoid crisis talk more of the whole country. So, that is why this decision was taken.”

On the timeline for the Tinubu committee, he said: “I don’t have the terms of reference that was given to our leader and I want to believe that there is no committee that is set up without timeline. So, I’m not in the position to tell you the timeline given to that committee.

“Also, every member of this committee – whether one man committee or multiple man committee – I want to assure you that every members of APC are cooperating 100 per cent with our leader, Senator Tinubu.”

Those who attended the meeting included: Governors Aminu Bello Masari (Katsina), Aminu Waziri Tambuwal (Sokoto), Sani Bello (Niger), Kashim Shettima (Borno), Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa), Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun), Abdulaziz Yari (Zamfara), Nasir El Rufai (Kaduna), Abubakar Ibrahim (Bauchi), Abdullahi Ganduje (Kano), Rochas Okorocha (Imo), Akinwumi Ambode (Lagos) Samuel Ortom (Benue), Simon Lalong (Plateau) and Rotimi Akeredolu (Ondo).

Others are: Senate Leader Ahmed Lawal, Minister of State for Petroleum Resources Ibe Kachukwu, Deputy Speaker Yusuf Lasun, Deputy Senate Whip Francis Alimikhena, Senator Magnus Abe, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, Senator Andy Uba, Senator Sani Yarima, House Leader Femi Gbajabiamila, House Whip Ado Dogowa, state chairmen among others.




Follow us on Twitter at @thesignalng

Copyright 2018 SIGNAL. Permission to use portions of this article is granted provided appropriate credits are given to www.signalng.com and other relevant sources.

There are no comments

Add yours