Tension as Benin Republic Invades 16 Villages in Kwara

Yemi Adebowale 

The border town of Okuta in Baruten Local Government Area of Kwara State has enveloped in tension over the alleged invasion of 16 villages by the authorities of Benin Republic, ThisDay is reporting.

Already, the authorities of the neighbouring country have gone ahead to construct Gerdarmes Office (Police station) in the affected Nigerian communities and also hoist their national flag at the affected Nigeria villages.

According to the report, the development has disregarded the boundary delimitation of 1914 between Britain and France which the two countries had respected.

The affected Nigerian villages include‎ Ogomne, Bwin, Gandasunon, Kpuru and Woru Wuren Kparu.

Others are Ajuba,1, Ajuba 2, Saka Yeruman Kparu,Monta, Dotin Kparu,Halidun Kparu, Yakubun Kparu, Sonsi,Gunosani, Alhaji Kparu,Yodo Mankparu and Simen Kparu.

It was learnt that the development has also led the Okuta Emirate Council to order the people of Yakparu axis to dismantle of the Beninoire flag hoisted at Nigerian villages and the flag is currently at the custody of the emirate council in the town.


Follow us on Twitter at @thesignalng

Copyright 2015 SIGNAL. Permission to use portions of this article is granted provided appropriate credits are given to and other relevant sources.

There are no comments

Add yours