Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


FG Seeks Abolition of Visa Requirement Among D-8 Member Countries

Oche Daniel

Nigeria has called for the abolition of visa requirement among members of the Eight Developing Countries (D-8) of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation to ensure free movement of people and trade.

Lai Mohammed, Nigeria’s minister of information, culture and tourism, made the call when meeting with Seyed Ali-Mohammed, the D-8 secretary-general, in Abuja on Wednesday.

Noting that free movement of people would guarantee free movement of trade, Mohammed urged D-8 members to make sure “there is no barrier in terms of visa” among them.

The minister commended the D-8’s focus on tourism development of which he said provision of infrastructure is critical.

For his part, Ali-Mohammed reiterated his organisation’s determination to help member-states to develop tourism and promote co-operation among them.

The D-8 countries are Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan and Turkey.

Follow us on Twitter at @thesignalng
Copyright 2015 SIGNAL. Permission to use portions of this article is granted provided appropriate credits are given to and other relevant sources.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Iran’s supreme leader, Ayatollah Ali Khamenei announced on Monday five days of mourning for President Ebrahim Raisi who died in a helicopter crash. “I...


Kano State High Court has affirmed the suspension of the national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Abdullahi Umar Ganduje. The court, while...


Iran launched more than 300 drones and missiles toward Israel in its unprecedented attack overnight, injuring at least 12 people, an Israeli army spokesman...


Nigerians are still bearing the effects of the policies of ex-President Muhammadu Buhari, Adams Oshiomhole, senator representing Edo North Senatorial District, has said. Some...

Copyright ©