Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


PROTEST | 5 DCGs of Nigeria Customs Quit Service

Yemi Adebowale

Five Deputy Comptroller-Generals of the Nigeria Customs Service on Thursday voluntarily retired from the service of the Customs.

The five officers, who rose through the ranks of the Nigeria Customs Service to the position of Deputy Comptroller General, disclosed this in a letter addressed to the Chairman, Nigeria Customs Service Board and dated 29th October 2015.

An inside source familiar with the details of the matter disclosed to SIGNAL on Thursday that the five officers retired voluntarily in protest over the superimposition of Col. Hameed Ibrahim Ali (rtd) – an “outsider” as the new Comptroller-General of the Nigeria Customs Service.

According to the source who did not want to be named, “The five officers are retiring voluntarily in protest over the way and manner a total outsider was placed above them as Comptroller-General. You can imagine after spending decades of active years in service only to get close to the peak of your career and then denied the greatest honour of service. It is really bad.”

The five officers are DCG A.J. Atte; DCG T.A. Musa; DCG I.M. Mera, DCG A.C. Nwosu and DCG A. A. Adewuyi.




Follow us on Twitter at @thesignalng

Copyright 2015 SIGNAL. Permission to use portions of this article is granted provided appropriate credits are given to and other relevant sources.




Nigeria’s commercial capital, Lagos has been placed under a partial lockdown by security agencies, the state police commissioner, Abiodun Alabi announced on Wednesday. Alabi...


I read a tweet recently. It said, “Party politics will be the death of us in Nigeria”. I smiled. This was not the first...


The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) confirmed, on Sunday, that no fewer than 60 new suspected cases of monkeypox were reported in epidemiology...


Rising debt has pushed Nigeria up the World Bank’s top 10 International Development Association borrowers’ list, Punch reports. The World Bank Fiscal Year 2021...

Copyright ©