Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Asisat Oshoala Wins African Player of the Year Award for the Third Time

Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala was named Women’s Footballer of the Year Asisat in Ghana’s capital city Accra on Thursday night.

Oshoala previously won the award in 2014 and 2016. She beat Cameroonian Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene and Chrestina Kgatlana of South Africa to the top prize.

The 2015 BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year moved to Dalian Quanjian of China at the beginning of last season after enduring a not-so-successful period in England with Liverpool and Arsenal LAdies.

In her first season in China, she notched 12 goals including a brace in the final game of the season. Her exploits earned Quanjian a league and Cup double and she was crowned the League’s Best Striker.



Follow us on Twitter at @thesignalng

Copyright 2018 SIGNAL. Permission to use portions of this article is granted provided appropriate credits are given to and other relevant sources.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.




Senegalese striker and Liverpool star Sadio Mane has been crowned as the 2019 African Player of the Year. The 27-year old Senegalese striker claimed...


The Odion Ighalo Orphanage was formally launched at the Bespoke Centre in Lekki, Lagos on Saturday with numerous footballers, celebrities and politicians in attendance....


The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) says it had no pre-knowledge about the movement of Super Falcons striker, Asisat Oshoala, to Chinese Club, Dalian Quanjian,...


It turned out to be an evening of great expectations, with many expecting Gabon and Borussia Dortmund’s striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang to retain the trophy...

Copyright ©