North Produced 7 PDP Chairmen, It’s Turn of the South-West – Jalo

Deputy National Publicity Secretary of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Abdullahi Jalo, has said that the north has produced seven national chairmen of the party, saying it is no longer interested in the chairmanship but the presidential ticket for 2019. He said the South-West should be given the chance to produce the next national chairman at the May 21 national convention slated for Port Harcourt, Rivers State.

Speaking in a telephone interview yesterday, Jalo said there are credible party chieftains in the South-West who could be entrusted with the seat of chairman, naming them to include Bode George, Shuaibu Adedokun, Senator Bode Olajumoke and Ebenezer Babatope among others.

Jalo said the north produced Audu Ogbeh, Alhaji Adamu Mu’azu, Ahmadu Ali, Solomon Lar, Alhaji BamangaTukur, Barnabas Gemade and now Ali Modu Sheriff, as national chairman at different times.

He noted that the South-West has never produced a PDP national chairman since the formation of the party in 1998, adding that some of its leaders mentioned above had been working for the party tirelessly without any record of defection.

“They have not betrayed the PDP since they became members of the party. They have never defected to other parties. They have kept faith with the PDP. I think the South-West deserves the position of chairman,” he said.


Follow us on Twitter at @thesignalng

Copyright 2015 SIGNAL. Permission to use portions of this article is granted provided appropriate credits are given to and other relevant sources.

There are no comments

Add yours