Buhari Obaseki

FLASH | INEC Declares APC’s Godwin Obaseki Winner of Edo Governorship Election

Candidate of the‎ All Progressives Congress (APC) in the Edo State governorship election, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, has been declared winner of the ‎September 28 governorship election by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Nineteen political parties contested in the election which was initially scheduled to hold on September 10, but had to be shifted to September 28 over security concerns as advised by security agencies.

INEC’s Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Kayode Soremekun, Vice Chancellor, Federal University, Oye Ekiti, who declared Obaseki winner of the election, said the APC flagbearer polled a total of 319,483 to beat his closest rival, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who polled 253,173 votes.

He disclosed that out of the 1,900,223 total voters registered across the state, ‎622,069 were accredited for the election, out of which 613,244 voted.

‎Mr. Obaseki won in 13 local government areas of the state, while Pastor Ize-Iyamu won in five.

The results for the two leading parties from the 18 local government areas as announced by the INEC are as follows:

Edo North: Akoko Edo – APC: 24,545; PDP: 13,027; Etsako East – APC: 18,078; PDP: 12,552; Etsako West – APC: 29,199; PDP: 10,843; Etsako Central – APC:10,373; PDP: 8,827; Owan West – APC: 12,862; PDP: 10,132; Owan East – APC: 12,862; PDP: 10,132.

Edo Central: Esan West – APC: 13,114; PDP: 16,311; Esan Central – APC: 9,781; PDP: 10,180 and Esan North-East – APC: 9,130; PDP: 16,220; Igueben – APC: 7,802; PDP: 7,560; Esan South-West – APC: 9,554; PDP: 11,466.

Edo South: Ovia North-East – APC: 17,561; PDP: 13,149; Ovia Soouth-West – APC: 12,820; PDP: 8,810; Ikpoba-Okha – APC: 33,469; PDP: 26,096; Oredo – APC: 37,612; PDP: 30,492; Egor – APC: 26,177; PDP: 19,514; Uhumwode – APC: 10,911; PDP: 8,667 and Orhiomwon – APC: 15,260; PDP: 16,446.

Pronouncing the APC candidate, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, as winner of the gubernatorial election, Professor Soremekun said: “I hereby declared that Mr. Godwin Obaseki of the APC, haven satisfied the requirement of the law by scoring the highest number of votes, is hereby declared winner of the election and is returned elected.”

The PDP has rejected the results.


Follow us on Twitter at @thesignalng

Copyright 2015 SIGNAL. Permission to use portions of this article is granted provided appropriate credits are given to www.signalng.com and other relevant sources.

There are no comments

Add yours